TCL-placed Ground Units and Terrain

F4Browse, CATE, Tacedit, Terrainview & TheaterMaker etc utility related

Moderators: Snake Man, Lone Wolf

Post Reply
ccc
Chief of Staff
Posts: 4857
Joined: 2000-08-06, 10:01:01 PM

TCL-placed Ground Units and Terrain

Post by ccc » 2010-08-17, 01:58:23 PM

TCL is a powerful tool to place huge amount of GUs at one click.

But, while checking latest PMC campaigns, i found many TCL-placed GUs become immobilized and unresponsive to Ground war AI command.

My latest tweaking/understanding is, Terrain feature and slope may make GUs immobilized forever. When a GU placed on water, river, tough terrain type, or steep slope, it won't move. a good example is ODS 128 - many TCL-placed GUs moving on desert plain.. but many GUs in Georgia moutain/forrest area are immobilized.

i don't mean we should not use TCL. Instead, for serious campaign-making, we can use TCL to ADD many well-organized brigade-battlion GUs at open land/area like sea. THEN move them to desired locations manually -avoid tough terrain, river, etc. Of course, you may place them thru TCL at one click, then fine-tune mis-placed GUs among objectives.

NOTE - be sure to enable relief map(load THR file) in TacEdit to show terrain features!

Snake Man
Commander-In-Chief
Posts: 8561
Joined: 2000-07-31, 10:01:01 PM
Gaming Interests: ArmA, ArmA 2, Falcon 4.0 and OFP.
Editing Interests: All, I (try) to edit everything.
Location: PMC

Re: TCL-placed GUs and Terrain

Post by Snake Man » 2010-08-17, 03:02:12 PM

Please review PMC Korean TCL campaigns and post back here.

I'm waiting for your feedback...
PMC since 1984

Editing knowledge, visit PMC Editing Wiki
Addon manuals, visit PMC addons/mods online manuals
View our videos in PMC Youtube channel.

PMC Tactical forum Advanced Search is power.

ccc
Chief of Staff
Posts: 4857
Joined: 2000-08-06, 10:01:01 PM

Re: TCL-placed GUs and Terrain

Post by ccc » 2010-08-18, 01:46:13 AM

< PMC Korean TCL campaigns >

huh? i've mailed you my comment days ago.. must be lost somewhere.

i tested the easy cam with 16x for a while.
After some fighting along DMZ, the blue GUs refused to move north.. they stoped at north DMZ.
i assumed the base terrain files is the same one as FF5 campaigns.. so the road system should be ok.
my impression is, blue side may need more GUs to have surplus units for major offensive.. it seems happen to other test campaigns.

Snake Man
Commander-In-Chief
Posts: 8561
Joined: 2000-07-31, 10:01:01 PM
Gaming Interests: ArmA, ArmA 2, Falcon 4.0 and OFP.
Editing Interests: All, I (try) to edit everything.
Location: PMC

Re: TCL-placed GUs and Terrain

Post by Snake Man » 2010-08-18, 04:16:54 AM

No, you completely missed my point...

You say that TCL scripts are the DEVIL as they place ground units on middle of nowhere, so I wanted to let you know to check out the just released PMC Korean TCL Campaigns more carefully regarding ground units, because in those campaigns ALL ground units are placed on objectives, there is not single one ground unit in middle of nowhere.

So the era of TCL scripts placing ground units in locations where they can be bogged down, is officially over.

Please, with sugar on top, go back to the PMC Korean TCL Campaign and take a closer look and evaluate any TCL placed ground units found there.
PMC since 1984

Editing knowledge, visit PMC Editing Wiki
Addon manuals, visit PMC addons/mods online manuals
View our videos in PMC Youtube channel.

PMC Tactical forum Advanced Search is power.

ccc
Chief of Staff
Posts: 4857
Joined: 2000-08-06, 10:01:01 PM

Re: TCL-placed GUs and Terrain

Post by ccc » 2010-08-18, 08:25:47 AM

OK OK.. i got it.

now you placing GUs on obj, sure they won't go nowhere - excellent!

will check cams again.

Snake Man
Commander-In-Chief
Posts: 8561
Joined: 2000-07-31, 10:01:01 PM
Gaming Interests: ArmA, ArmA 2, Falcon 4.0 and OFP.
Editing Interests: All, I (try) to edit everything.
Location: PMC

Re: TCL-placed Ground Units and Terrain

Post by Snake Man » 2010-08-18, 10:35:46 AM

Only problem I see with this is... when you place a division into a city objective, it gets crowded there real fast :lol:

edit: I edited the topic name from "GU" to "Ground Units" as it wont show up easily on forum search.
PMC since 1984

Editing knowledge, visit PMC Editing Wiki
Addon manuals, visit PMC addons/mods online manuals
View our videos in PMC Youtube channel.

PMC Tactical forum Advanced Search is power.

demer928
Banned user
Posts: 208
Joined: 2009-05-06, 08:48:30 PM
Gaming Interests: Falcon 4.0
Editing Interests: All, I (try) to edit everything.

Re: TCL-placed Ground Units and Terrain

Post by demer928 » 2010-08-18, 10:16:22 PM

Ya' Better,
Make Sure that when you Place those GU's on an Objective\Road, that the Link's are there for them to move out!!!!
i.e. Check your Move Cost!!! on the ASSOCIATED link's
Placing a GU with TCL is nice.Going back and checking them is tediou's work!!!!
I should have something for you guy's....soon..that you can disect in TacEdit and get a better understanding of how it Really work's in Falcon!!!!

Hustler and Rambo are Free to chime in here at any point.

Regard's
demer

BTW: There are at least 10 Important thing's to consider whilst' building Campaign's on your MAP.!!!!!!!

User avatar
Sherlock
Lt. General
Posts: 1167
Joined: 2006-05-24, 10:01:01 PM
Gaming Interests: Falcon 4.0
Editing Interests: All, I (try) to edit everything.
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: TCL-placed Ground Units and Terrain

Post by Sherlock » 2010-08-19, 12:02:04 AM

demer928 wrote:...

BTW: There are at least 10 Important thing's to consider whilst' building Campaign's on your MAP.!!!!!!!
Would you care to list them for us? :mrgreen:
Sherlock
Victurous te Saluto

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests