Moderators: Lone Wolf, Snake Man

derStef
Banned user
Gaming Interests: Falcon 4.0
Editing Interests: Terrains

Need .TRI support! please!

Post by derStef » 2008-01-24 10:17:43

Hello everybody!
as you might know, i'm still working on PMC Taiwan theater campaign mods!
campaign is nearly finished now. But there are issues that has definitive something to do with the .tri file...

ALL i NEED NOW IS A WORKING .TRI FILE FOR IT!

i'm not able to make one? i have no scripting experience, sorry. :oops:
the tutorials haven't helped me.

So please, is there somebody who can write one for me?? or help me out????

THANKS TO ALL! Cheers

Stef

Closter
Captain

Post by Closter » 2008-01-25 20:44:23

I don't have experience with tri files, but, to me, they seem like scripts that are evaluated in a continous loop through the duration of the campaign, except for the inialisation chapter.

In my view, the events are only flags, you can fire an event but you must do something more for the event having a meaning. For example, you can write an event for the case that current aircraft numbers being equal, that trigger that the initiative trespasses from attacker to defender. Or you can force a counterattack if the capital is being seized (e.g some key objectives near city are taken by the invader, then defender goes to the offensive, and that same objectives are pri increased.

I think that is the way of making the trigger file work. The way it is now in Taiwan, it only ends campaign after a certain number of hours IIRC.

The events can trace a path for the progressing of the army if you put the conditions for this as a bigger priority or bigger initiative or something else.

If the situation gets static, you could control this with an event that change the supply levels, or the coming of another country into the war