New to MODs - Just a suggestion

VTE - The most detailed and comprehensive Vietnam modification for OFP

Moderators: Lone Wolf, Snake Man

ironpadre

New to MODs - Just a suggestion

Post by ironpadre » 2005-11-07 03:06:18

I have owned and played OFP for four years and love it. I am a Vietnam Veteran (1966-67 Air CAV) who is computer literate, but confess to you, like many of my Vietnam Vet brothers who also play OFP, am quite new to MODs. I downloaded VTE (latest version) and am quite impressed with the project overall, but like several others who have posted "HELP" messages on this forum, have had no success in getting VTE to work properly. I am running OFPR v.1.96, but cannot get the game to boot in vte mode. Speaking for myself and some of the other neophytes who would like to run VTE, a step-by-step install guide would be of great help. I have written some MPs in the past, but VTE has me stumped. Judging from the screenshots of VTE, your project is much needed and goes unparalleled in the community. Outstanding job! [smiley=beer.gif]

.pablo.
Recruit

Re: New to MODs - Just a suggestion

Post by .pablo. » 2005-11-07 04:07:45

what problems are you running into? i'm not a member of the VTE team, but i may be able to help you if no one else is responding...
"When in doubt, empty the magazine." -Murphy's Laws of Combat

Polish_GI
2nd Lt

Post by Polish_GI » 2005-11-07 05:27:34

I am wondering if this is your problem!  Create an additional shortcut for OFP, and within the shortcut properties, within the target line, add this:

"C:Program FilesCodemastersOperation FlashpointFLASHPOINTRESISTANCE.EXE" -nosplash -mod=x_vte -nomap  

Also, make sure you include the x_vte folder in the OFP directory.  Under/within the x_vte folder, you will have the following:  addons, bin, campaigns, dta, missions, newdata.  Or basically how the folders are when downloaded from any of the various sites.

Hope this helps or makes sense!